Latest Updates

Sunrise continues to actively monitor the global situation with COVID-19 (novel coronavirus). The latest information on our efforts can be found here.



An Update from Our Chief Operating Officer and Chief Clinical Officer 

January 11, 2021

Dear Sunrise Residents and Families:

Happy New Year! We start 2021 continuing our excitement about the COVID-19 vaccine, which brings great promise that one day we can all put this worldwide pandemic behind us. The experiences of the last year are still fresh in our hearts and minds, and we remain grateful for the resilience and positivity our residents and team members show each day.

We also applaud the CDC for recommending to prioritize our community members, and we continue to advocate among state and local officials for our assisted living and independent living residents to receive the vaccine as quickly and efficiently as possible. We are making progress. We have completed our first round of three clinics at approximately 23 communities in Colorado, Florida, Michigan, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Texas, and Virginia, and expect many more communities to take part in the coming weeks.

Witnessing residents and team members roll up their sleeves, knowing that they were taking a proactive step toward protecting themselves and others, was incredible. And, our teams' creativity has really shone through, as they turned vaccine clinics into celebratory occasions. We've heard of everything from themed parties, balloon spectaculars, and "Give Us Your Best Shot" playlists, to a "Winners Circle" where vaccinated residents receive special refreshments (all socially distanced, of course!).

Your community leadership team will continue to keep you updated on scheduling, as they hear from CVS Health, and work with you on obtaining vaccine consents in advance. Thank you for your patience and flexibility.

We're really excited about the ongoing interest from team members to get vaccinated and are encouraged by their level of engagement as we work hard to make available information from the CDC, FDA, and other federal public health authorities. At this stage, we continue to strongly encourage team members to consider participating in the vaccine program, and we are actively exploring opportunities to mandate the vaccine following its approval by the FDA.

The COVID-19 vaccine is a key component of the world’s ability to move beyond this pandemic. As we continue to learn more about the vaccine, we will include those learnings into our evidence-based infection control program, and we’ll continue practicing enhanced measures to stop the spread of the virus. Importantly, even once our team members and residents are vaccinated, mask wearing, social distancing, and other enhanced protocols won’t be going anywhere for the foreseeable future, as our society must first reach herd immunity. We’ll stay the course and continue to take steps to limit virus transmission until health authorities advise it is no longer necessary.

This year brings a renewed sense of hope and energy to us all. It's our honor to serve you and we wish to thank you in taking the next step with us in our journey.

Sincerely,

Sue Coppola, Chief Clinical Officer
Jenifer Salamino, Chief Operating Officer




Past Updates

2021

National Update – COVID-19 Vaccine Update – Monday, January 11 9:30 AM EST
Sunrise residents and team members have started to get vaccinated. 

2020

National Update – Resident Engagement During the Holidays – Monday, December 21 12:00 PM EST
In a time of COVID-19, our community teams continue to tap into their creative talents to bring a special holiday season for residents.

National Update – COVID-19 Vaccine Update – Tuesday, December 8 9:30 AM EST
Sunrise is actively preparing for the distribution of the vaccine to residents and frontline team members as soon as December.

National Update – Testing Program – Monday, November 23 9:15 AM EST
Chief Clinical Officer Sue Coppola provides an update on Sunrise's surveillance testing strategy.

Leadership Update – Monday, November 9 9:30 AM EST

Leadership Message – Thursday, October 15 10:30 AM EST

Leadership Message – Thursday, September 24 11:30 AM EST

National Update – Friday, August 21 3:50 PM EST

Leadership Message – Tuesday, July 28 5:00 PM EST

Leadership Message – Monday, June 29 8:00 PM EST

Leadership Message – Friday, June 5 5:00 PM EST

Leadership Message – Thursday, June 4 3:00 PM EST

National Update – Monday, June 1 1:00 PM EST

CEO Message – Standing with Seniors – Tuesday, May 12 1:30 PM EST

National Update – Monday, May 11 12:00 PM EST

Leadership Message – Wednesday, May 6 9:00 AM EST

National Update – Thursday, April 23 6:15 PM EST

Leadership Message – Wednesday, April 15 5:00 PM EST

National Update – Wednesday, April 8 6:30 PM EST

National Update – Thursday, April 2 8:30 PM EST

National Update – Tuesday, March 24 10:00 AM EST

CEO Message – Friday, March 20 9:50 AM EST

National Update – Thursday, March 19 6:00 PM EST

National Update – Tuesday, March 17 6:45 PM EST

National Update – Monday, March 16 6:00 PM EST

CEO Message – Tuesday, March 10 5:00 PM EST

National Update – Friday, March 13 10:30 AM EST